Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Fathers Tell Your Daughters May 30, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 9:16 pm

I suppose this could include sons, but since I am a daughter this will be about girls.

I remind my husband from time to time to be sure to tell our daughter sweet things to boost her self-image. I want her to hear from her Daddy how beautiful and worthy she is. Soon, he will begin taking her on father/daughter dates. I believe this is important for a young girl. I want my daughter to marry a man who treats her like my husband treats me.

I am 36 years old. The other day I sent my Mom and Dad pictures of me with my new hairstyle. My Dad sent me an e-mail back saying “Looks great. You are sooooo Beautiful!” I kept that e-mail because it meant the world to me. I’m a grown woman and I still feel amazing when my Dad compliments me. I kept it because if I’m having a bad self-image moment I am going to read what my Daddy thinks of me. Which will hopefully remind me of what my Creator thinks of me, as well.

Fathers tell your Daughters how beautiful they are. Even if you don’t really think so. Even if there is something “wrong” with her. Tell her she is beautiful. Tell her you love her. Tell her she means the world to you. Tell her how you feel. Hug her. Kiss her. Stroke her cheek. Rub her back. Tell her how pretty she is and how smart she is and all the things you can conjure up to make her feel like a princess.

Because she is all those things no matter what society may think.
She is beautiful and smart and lovely and graceful and a princess.

Your princess.

And she needs to know from y.o.u.
And she needs to hear it from y.o.u.

Even when she’s 6
or 16
or 26
or 36
or 46

Even when she starts to look old to you.
Tell her even then that she’s still your little girl and she’s beautiful.

IMG_5725My best friend forever

 

3 Responses to “Fathers Tell Your Daughters”

  1. Oh, beautiful girl! Beautiful lpost. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Ivan Says:

    Very very true. For boys too.

  3. kimmyfrk Says:

    The link to this blog popped up on one of my blogs, and I am so glad it did! I just love this!!! It is so good and so true!!!! How incredibly sweet!


Leave a Reply

