Candid Chatter

Just Say It

It’s MY Creative Outlet – Go Find Your Own May 30, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:53 am

Wisdom.
It’s a funny thing. Not funny “ha ha”, but the other funny.

As the years go by, I am learning more and more about keeping my mouth shut. There are times when I have to bite my tongue in half, but I’m learning. For instance, I don’t write nearly half the things I want to write on my blog anymore. I have to think first. Sometimes I have to sleep on it first. Sometimes this new way of doing things online ticks me off. But, I understand now (call me a slow learner) that there are people out there reading who get downright mad at me for what I feel and think about a subject.

Interesting.

These same people want me to be accepting of their opinions and feelings though. And, I’m sure if they used an internet source as their creative outlet, they would feel and say what they wanted to feel and say and would feel imposed upon if I had the “nerve” to jump all over them for their feelings and sayings.

I’m just sayin’.

It’s ok though. I am learning through this season of censorship. I’m sure there is more than one lesson in it too. See, I can’t help it if people read my blog (for the most part). It’s open to the public. And, as much as blog stats used to thrill me, I seriously don’t care anymore how many people are reading. What I wonder time and again is who. Who is reading? So very many in anonymity until one of you decides to surface and explode. Those are the times when I seriously consider closing my blog to the public. But, I don’t and I don’t think I ever will.

Here’s why.

I have met some of you and I happen to like you.

So, my dear naysayers and owners of public temper tantrums and delusional thoughts about your role in my life, I will not quit for now. If I ever do decide to quit, you won’t be the reason. My advice to you, and I’ve said this before, is to find your own life and your own resource for your own thoughts. I wish you well. But, please, for the life of all that is good and wholesome… leave me alone.

Leave.Me.Alone.

 

4 Responses to “It’s MY Creative Outlet – Go Find Your Own”

  1. You know, so far, my blogs been pretty “safe”.. I don’t have a huge readership and I don’t think I”ve EVER had a negative comment (so far). I also dont’ think any of my famiy, and few of my IRL friends even read my blog.. or are aware of it’s existence although I DO have the link in my email signature.. All this to say, I am NOT speaking from experience when I say:

    I don’t suppose it would bother me if the negative stuff was a way to open a constructive arguement BUT it’s ridiculous that people just negatively attack.. You’re right, it’s YOUR creative outlet.. they can find their own.. Or are they using your comments section for that?

    Hang in there, Heidi! I LOVE reading what you have to say!

  2. Ivan Says:

    One of the best things about the internet (even before the web) was that it allowed like-minded people to meet each other, from all over the world.

    Free and frank debate is all very well — but even then, the visitor should gauge what kind of free and frank debate is appropriate on a particular blog. People who pour out their negative vibes for their own entertainment are just so poisonous. I think we used to call them trolls.

  3. Lorna Says:

    You know what’s nice about having an argument via the internet? The delete button. 🙂 I just had to use it on my FB account. A friend posted something that rubbed me the wrong way and since it’s MY facebook account and I didn’t care for her opinion, I simply deleted it.

    Variety is the spice of life. If we all had the same ideas and opinions, life would surely be boring.

    I’m glad you’re sticking around. Cuz, I happen to like you too.

    ((Heidi Hugs))

  4. candidchatter Says:

    Sometimes it happens in comments. I have used the delete button and that has also ruffled feathers because by using the delete option I am somehow silencing a voice that “needs to be heard”. However, when I have used the delete option (I can count on one hand how many times I have used it) it has been because the person spewing their hatred has thrown darts at my friends or said things so absurd that I didn’t want to throw THEM to the wolves for sounding completely outrageous.

    If I do delete, I usually monitor the comments for a few days or weeks. That way nothing gets posted until I approve the comment. I hate that though. I really would rather everyone be MATURE and play nice on here (or on anyone’s blog).

    The other issue I’m speaking of in this post is what goes on behind the blog. The e-mails. The phone conversations.

    I am tired of other people invading upon what I am “allowed” or “not allowed” to say on my blog. I am really, really tired of it. But, unless I close my blog to the public or start a new one that nobody knows about, I will continue to hear the bull.

    Thanks for the support you guys. I do heart you a ton!


Leave a Reply

