Candid Chatter

Just Say It

The Bond is No Different June 18, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 5:27 am

I have begun to breastfeed and then quit twice. I lasted 2 weeks with Brianna and 6 weeks with Jeremy.

This time I’ve stuck it out even when I wanted to quit. I am glad I did. Really glad. It’s wonderful. It’s not so wonderful in the beginning, I’ll admit. But, Jaxon is 5 months old and I love our time together. Sometimes I go into my bedroom to feed him even when he isn’t showing hunger signs just to get my peace and quiet time alone with him. Only I can do this. Only I have this priviledged time with our Baby Jack. Just me. Just us.

Even so, the bond that I have with him is no different than the bond I have with my older two.
The love I feel in my heart is the same for each.

I am glad about this because I wasn’t sure if that would be the case.

Have a great day!

 

2 Responses to “The Bond is No Different”

  1. I breast fed Sean for 8 mos, Cary for 11mos., weaned Kayleigh at 26 months the DAY I went to the hospital to have Seth (she was only nursing once most days, rarely twice). I used to say that if I could just breast feed Seth, we’d be okay. Yeah, that didn’t happen. I pumped like a maniac for the first three months and petered out, and he couldn’t get the pumped milk anyway (milk protein intolerance).

    And you know what? I don’t miss Seth any more (or less) than I would any of my other kids. I loved him equally, but differently. As I love all my kids. And I didnt’ need to nurse him to prove that.

    Sometimes I think we moms need to just let go of all that “it has to be THIS way” stuff. I”m GLAD you’re successful and enjoying this time with Jack. Probably even more important with the third, huh? to have that “carved out” time!!

    Great post!

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Hi Kathryn. There are so many opinions on this subject. I’ll admit I was not a pro-breastfeeding person for a time. I felt that if a woman chose NOT to breastfeed it’s her decision and we should leave her be. Now, I would try to persuade a close friend or a family member to stick it out through the first 8 weeks (esp the first 3-6, which are the hardest). I would offer support, not tell her “why don’t you just quit”. I feel badly for all the non-supportive comments I have made in the past for women who were really trying to give it their all during a sleep deprivation that you just can’t describe until you’re smack dab in the middle of it. [hangs head] But, the bond that a lot of supposed experts describe… well, it’s there no matter if you breastfeed or bottle feed. That child is your child and you will love that child fully unless there is something mentally wrong with you or you’re on drugs.

    Thanks for commenting.


Leave a Reply

