Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Gifted? June 25, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:07 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I am seriously considering having my son, Jeremy, tested for giftedness.

Ever considered this for your child?
Ever actually have the child tested?
Thoughts?
Anyone?

geniusbrainI just don’t know yet.

 

9 Responses to “Gifted?”

  1. Heidi: I could never tell if mine were gifted or not…they were both smarter than me to start with. 🙂 On to your question: I see no problem with having jeremy tested as long as you & Rich keep a handle on him, on the expectations placed on him, and the pressure that comes from feeling like one has to perform. You are a good mom so I am sure you will.

  2. candidchatter Says:

    Bill: I am afraid he will get bored in school and cause problems. I don’t know why I think this… call it a “gut feeling”. He’s 3 years old since March. He mastered those wooden puzzles by 18 months. He has been saying his alphabet since 16 months. Right now he is obsessed with numbers, letters, and shapes. He counts things which isn’t supposed to happen for another year. He has known all his colors since he was 2 (even pink and purple which “they” say are the hardest for kids). He memorizes words from cartoons (after only watching them once or twice) and then acts out the scenes. He is very sensitive. He speaks on a level at or higher than his sister who is 18 months older than him. The other day after looking at his plate of food that his grandma gave him he said, “Mom, look, that’s a lot of food. Variety is the spice of life.” What? Where did that come from? I don’t say that. TV? He heard someone else say it? Nevertheless, he knew what “Variety” meant and used it correctly in conversation. There is so much more I could type here, but it would take up too much space.

    I think he’s a genius. I think my husband is too, but he was never tested. Makes me wonder. Rich has a photographic memory. Jeremy is displaying the same ability.

    Heidi

  3. How would you even go about getting a 3 year old tested and what difference would it make before school age? (Seriously, while he’s home with you, what difference would it make?). A GOOD kindergarten teacher can deal with a wide disparity of students, including delayed AND gifted.

    At our school, they test the kids at the end of K and 1st grade (or 1st & 2nd?) and if they do well on that, they send questionnaires to the parents and the teachers.. Our oldest got to the questionnaire stage and didn’t qualify for the gifted “program” (pulled out of school, taken to the gifted “center” 1 day/week in our district). I figured if it was meant to be, God would have provided that so I don’t worry too much. He IS a brilliant kid, just not what our district considers “gifted”.

    I’ll be praying for discernment for you too! It’s hard to always want the best for our kids and not always know how to go about getting it, isn’t it?

  4. jimmy paravane Says:

    I shouldn’t be allowed to talk because I’m a grandparent. Not that I’m bragging or anything, but my granddaughter IS starting her second year at an AP school next year. What? I’m just saying…(grin)

  5. candidchatter Says:

    Kathryn: I’m finding in my research that I should wait until he’s at least 5. Plus, I guess finding the right tester is also very important. I’m learning.

    Jimmy: What’s an AP school?

  6. Daphne Says:

    WaIt for the teacher to notice and suggest it. My love asked for our genious to be tested and I was not happy with the following events. Also, our gifted programs are not what we wanted. More cons than pros. If you want to know more let’s take it to email but the best thing in my opinion is pray and wait. Why do you need someone to tell you how smart your 3 year old is? Just saying. Grace & Peace, d

  7. Ivan Says:

    Teachers occasionally tell us they think our son is “gifted” but I don’t think it really means anything outside the US educational establishment. I don’t know what gifted actually means.

    It’s probably premature to start worrying about it before Jeremy has started school, unless the schools near you are really terrible, and a “gifted centre” is just a euphemism for a “decent school”. If the school is OK, a mixed ability group could be good for him (like Kathryn says).

    Our son is at a nice small (v religious, ironically) school and is having basically a nice time, even though the lessons don’t challenge him at all — there’s a lot more to school than the lessons.

    I didn’t start getting alienated and belligerent at school until I was about 11 or 12. I think there’s plenty of time to spot problems.

    The main thing, Heidi, if I may be so bold, is that you try not to worry about it.

    Ivan

  8. Lana Says:

    I had Tiago tested. I think you can figure out the result.

    If you have him tested, it will confirm your suspiscion.
    That’s all, as it did for me.

    When they get to school, that is when it makes the big difference. For now, you continue to cultivate curiousity, interest, and problem solving. Don’t equate memorizing things (ie: alphabet, colors, etc) as having a high iq though.

    Jeremy is a special boy. I would be surprised if his i

  9. Lana Says:

    iq is lower than 130… If he was in my class, he’d be tested.

    Just keep it in perspective… that’s my only advice. Some parents think of it as a status quo, and as like Rich, many kids don’t get tested so they don’t get the enrichment their minds need while in school… which can be detrimental…


Leave a Reply

