Candid Chatter

Just Say It

How Were You Saved? June 26, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:13 am

man-reading-bible

I said the sinner’s prayer a couple of years before I had a God-filled knock my socks off moment. I will elaborate on my own testimony in another post.

Lots of things tied into my eternal destination.
Like…

  • my parents raised me in the Catholic church
  • my in-laws are Bible reading Spirit-filled Christians
  • my husband prayed for me

But, I wasn’t saved because I saw someone else reading a Bible.
I wasn’t saved because someone came up to me in a parking lot asking me evangelical questions.
I wasn’t saved because I went inside a pretty church.
I wasn’t saved because I was baptized as an infant.
I wasn’t saved by some preacher’s powerful message.

How about you?

How were you saved?

 

2 Responses to “How Were You Saved?”

  1. Jason Says:

    I was 14 years old when my best friend witnessed to me. That next Sunday I went to church with another friend of mine because his mom wanted us to go, I still didn’t go down front, I wanted to though. The following week, I told my mom I wanted to go to church and be saved……the rest is a blog post all of its own….love your heart girl

  2. If you look at my baptismal certificate (which I no longer have) it would say I was saved at 8 when I went forward on Palm Sunday and was baptized on Easter. If you ask me I would say it started then and then culminated in the day I surrendered my all to Jesus. Age? 18. at church camp where I worked. Unfortunately I got involved in a church that taught baptism saved us. I now know that we are saved by grace through faith and not by water.


Leave a Reply

