Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Accidental Discouragement August 4, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 2:49 pm

I used to pray and praise every morning. I think it has been years, frankly, since I’ve had a string of good sleep. So, I’ve been awake at the crack of dawn a lot over a span of time. I would see the sun at daybreak, over the golf course where I used to live, and praise God for it. It was a beautiful sight to behold. I would ask Him to give me so much of His Spirit that Jesus would stick out all over. I would submit myself to His will. I did this regularly. Dare I say daily? Could have been.

I went to a Bible study one night. I always get thrilled over Bible study groups. A woman, who was the leader of my group, said something to me like “you don’t need to do that because God’s Spirit abides in you already”. She may have felt like she had just released me from some obligatory ritual.

However, she unintentionally discouraged me from my morning’s praise and prayer time. I stopped doing it. I still saw the sun rise. I still marveled over the dew splashed golf course and dusk to dawn beauty of tropical vegetation. But, my precious moments with my Maker ceased to exist in the morning. I would still see and still pause in front of my double wide sliding glass doors and my breath would still catch in my throat, but gone was the praise and fullness of those moments. Gone was the kiss from my King.

An accidental discouragement.

I just finished a study on Psalm 23. It was amazing. I love that Psalm even more now. And, because of my study and a commentary by Charles Spurgeon, I have decided to renew my passionate mornings with my Savior. I have decided to seek His anointment despite the fact that His Spirit already resides within my heart. I want the fullness of Christ. I want my cup to runneth over.

“…thou annointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.”

For good commentary on the 23rd Psalm, click here and read Charles H. Spurgeon’s 7 commentaries.

landscapeHave a blessed day.

 

2 Responses to “Accidental Discouragement”

  1. It is true Heidi that some well-meaning people end up discouraging us more. Like the older believer who tells the fired-up new one “Oh you’ll get over it.” What’s with that/ I am currently reading Francis Chan’s new book “The Forgotten God” and it is about the HOly Spirit. I am sucking it in big time. Don’t give up your morning “ritual.” Praise Him for the morning and then continue asking Him to fill you to overflowing. Thanks for the good thoughts.

  2. Ivan Says:

    That is a beautiful Psalm. Thank you. I remember the first few lines as part of some tedious hymn from school, but reading it on your recommendation it caught me by surprise and it was completely fresh. I shall have to learn it. It would be very nice to have that in my head for access at any time.

    re the discourager. It seems to me a peculiarly mean-spirited relationship to one’s God: that there’s a certain minimum you need to do to “get in” to heaven and anything else is just a waste of time. I have come across that before, but only once (I shan’t bore you). Surely if you love someone you don’t do portion control on your love.


Leave a Reply

