Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Financial Opportunity? August 29, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 1:53 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I am hearing this a lot.
It’s the new buzz phrase.
“Check out this great financial opportunity”, they tell me.

RED FLAG!!!

I know a few of you reading this have jumped on the MLM (aka pyramid scheme — I mean, call it what it is already) band wagon. Good for you. But, count me out. Very out.

A few of these have turned into real businesses. I am partial to Pampered Chef products myself. Love them! Would never sell them. I am starting to like some of the Homemade Gourmet products too. Big time companies like Avon and Mary Kay have really done well. So has Longaberger, if you live in the Ohio area.

Rich and I have been bombarded asked to get involved in Mona Vie, Primerica, and Efusjon just in the last 6 months alone. Someone sent me an e-mail today asking me to call a phone number at a certain time today to be told about a fantastic “extra income” opportunity. I didn’t call. I didn’t even ask what the company is named. Deleted the e-mail too.

No thanks.

Not interested.

Sure there are people who have made money in that kind of business. But, they are few and far between. You pay to get in and they happily take your money and they fill you with all sorts of cheesy cheerleader bullshit at their ridiculous meetings and pump you full of positive thinking phrases and give you literature to study and videos to watch and websites to visit and people to meet and then… you go and try to recruit your friends and family who grit their teeth while they are trying to be polite to you because they like you when inside they are cringing and trying to find the first opportunity to change the damn subject but you just won’t take no for an answer and you use all your catchy phrases and before too long you’ve snowed a few of your friends and family and ripped them off and for what?

It’s our economy. These MLM “leaders” are taking full advantage of people who have lost their jobs. It kills me and not in a “ha ha funny” way either. No, it hurts my insides for them. The most unlikely people are becoming so gullible because they need money and they can’t go w/out a paycheck. So they give their $200-ish and start making phone calls and writing e-mails and status updating with cheesball things all over the social networking hemisphere and posting about it on their blogs.

I am angered by it all. Parasites.

Honestly, I wish you well if you have taken the bait. I do. I want you to succeed. But, please stop bothering me about it all. Seriously. Stop it.

mlm-multi-level-marketing

Anyone else affected by this?
Are you anti-MLM like me?

 

6 Responses to “Financial Opportunity?”

  1. Paul Says:

    >>I know a few of you reading this have jumped on the MLM (aka pyramid scheme — I mean, call it what it is already) band wagon. Good for you. But, count me out. Very out. A few of these have turned into real businesses. I am partial to Pampered Chef products myself. Love them! Would never sell them. I am starting to like some of the Homemade Gourmet products too. Big time companies like Avon and Mary Kay have really done well. So has Longaberger, if you live in the Ohio area.<<

    OK, let me see if I understand you You'll purchase from Pamper Chef. You think AVON, Mary Kay have done well. How do you separate one MLM from the others? I mean if they're really "pyramid schemes" which are ILLEGAL, why bother with any? Why become a "happy customer?"

    The structured graph you showed is very much like IBM's corporate structure. CEO at the top, A few Presidents of various divisions on next level followed by VP's, Area managers, Branch Managers, Managers and finally workers (like I was, been retired for 15 years) on the bottom level.

    How are they different????

    Yes, some MLM companies are better than others and some are "illegal" opportunities disguised as legitimate MLM's.

    It wasn't an MLM that caused the global crisis. It was so called legitimate companies, banks, brokerage houses and the like.

    I strongly suggest learning more about the industry. You just might find you learn something new.

    As far as unemployed workers, I can't imagine a better and low cost business opportunity than a solid MLM company. These people need to investigate any opportunity. Most offer start up fee's of less than $50. There are no requirements to make monthly purchases in order to earn in income.

    Check out Pampered Chef from your sales rep and learn more about this industry.

    It really is the salvation to this horrible economy. You see many people like you are only customers. That's what makes it work, happy customers even though they hate MLM and do not want to sell anything. Selling is not for eveyone, however our products and services are for everyone.

    Wishing you many more happy years as an MLM customer, you are very much appreciated by use ALL!

    Paul

  2. candidchatter Says:

    @Paul: Thanks for chiming in. I removed your URL though. I am not about to send people your way. I am sure you understand since you have just read my viewpoint on MLM pyramid schemes.

    Heidi

  3. I have worked for others, worked for myself, worked for a scam company and am now working for myself again. The keyword is work. Regardless of what you do you have to expect to work. Have a quality product, work just as hard and harder for your own company as you would for an employer and you can make money. Scams will never last. 99% of people who fall for scams or run scams are out of money quickly. MLM, your own product or a franchise — reputation, quality product/ service & dedication. That is what it takes.

  4. Lorna Says:

    hahaha, I figured in reading Paul’s response he was a salesman. I think hard times only make the MLM’s more successful…. at least temporarily. When people are unemployed they get desperate and will try anything. I have sold Tupperware (twice) and crashed and burned the first time, but was nicely successful the second time until all my leads dried up. I am most definitely not a sales woman, but I do enjoy some products offered by MLM. Please just don’t ask me to join your team, I’m not interested. Been there, done that.

  5. Tabetha Says:

    You have put exactly what I have thought and felt to words. Internet @mw@y. Sigh. I can’t even begin to describe how painful it is when you are excited to hear from someone you haven’t heard from in a long, long time, but only because they are trying to get you involved in “their” business. Or how insulting when a person attempts to flatter your intelligence only to get you into–their–business.

    As for being a salvation to this economy? Uh uh. People put so much hype and hope into this that they are doling out money they do not have into this scheme to the point of having their own hardworking livelihood repossessed. Anything that is supposed to make you rich quick may those red flags fly up. Biblically we are to work hard for all we do in this world; including making a profit.

    Proverbs 14:23

  6. WHERE is the FREAKIN’ like button on this thing??? 😉 OMG… I HATE MULTI-LEVEL MARKETING!! I’m with ya on the Pampered Chef, but COME ON, leave me alone already!!! Can I tell you the one that REALLY gets me?? Whatever this magic tonic is that they’re selling that cures everything! Reliv or something. Okay, so it healed you off all your ailments, cured your child’s heart condition (umm, wait a minute, wasn’t she just in for open hear surgery last week) and even got your dog to start peeing outside instead of on the furniture… but DON’T come up to me and say that it will help me lose weight. ESPECIALLY if you’re a TWIG yourself and have been for your entire life. Lose 75 lbs on it, THEN I might try it. No, I don’t mean find an article that shows me some fake photos of people who have lost the weight. Do you know how RUDE that is??? Like “Hey, I’ve noticed you’re incredibly obese and I figured I’d profit off of your desire to look like ME, so give me some money and become a dealer of this magic potion…”
    And I need to correct you on one thing. They don’t GIVE you the dvds and crap. Most of the time, they SELL it to their drones. That’s how the guy at the top is driving that sports car and is warming his hairplugged head on the beach somewhere… because you FOOLS buy the literature, dvds, websites and CRAP so you can ANNOY your friends to DEATH so they no longer want to answer the phone when you call!!!
    ahhhh, thanks Heidi, I feel SO much better now that I got that off my chest! 🙂


Leave a Reply

