Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Labels September 3, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 6:31 am

hello-my-name-is

Queer. Jerk. Druggie. Grump. Airhead.

Fat. Ugly. Loser. Dumb.

There are so many labels. Some of them we put on ourselves. Some of them we put on others. Some we speak aloud. Some we just think quietly.

Sometimes we label ourselves. Some labels we get from other people. Some are positive and some are negative.

Sometimes a label I receive frustrates me to the core. I feel like I have to somehow prove I am not [fill in the blank] and the person who just labeled me is wrong. Other times I just let it roll off my back.

I am trying not to label people negatively. It’s hard. I’ll be the first to admit it. It falls under that judging category that I wish so hard I could be immune to. I want to stop.

What is the one label you have received that you like the most? Just one.
Mine is “Mom”.

What is the one label you have received that you dislike the most? Just one.
Mine is “drama queen”.

 

4 Responses to “Labels”

  1. My new favorite: Grandpa.” Nothing compares (okay maybe one thing) to hearing, “Oh its grandpa!” after saying, “Hi Braden” on the speaker phone.

    My least: Hmmmm I can’t honestly recall being called one. My grandfather called me “Highpockets” and other affectionate names for a tall skinny kid. 🙂 ‘Course not much bothered me.

  2. jimmy paravane Says:

    What is the one label you have received that you like the most? PopPop! Same reason as bill.

    What is the one label you have received that you dislike the most? Caregiver. I miss being husband. partner. twin. stubborn and wrong! Oops, that was a lot more than just one. My bad. (grin)

  3. Lorna Says:

    My most favorite label is the same as yours: Mom

    My least favorite label is Rich SOB. I so wish it was true! 😉

    Seriously, I think I tend to give myself lots of negative labels. I have discovered lately that when I quickly put a negative label on someone else, it is most likely a personality trait that I have that I don’t like having. Some traits I tend to label people with are prideful, selfish, uncaring, egotistical, unforgiving. Those are the characteristics I need to work on in myself.

  4. My FAVORITE label: I am a precious daughter of the King of Kings!!

    My (close) second-most favorite label is the same as yours: Mommy (and honestly, “Mean mom” comes in a very close third.. I usually know I”m doing something right!)

    My least favorite: “Bereaved parent”
    For obvious reasons. It IS a label. It’s also fact. And almost a year out (yes, Oct. 12th.. but 9/10 was when Seth was admitted for his second surgery and so the next few weeks will be full of “a year ago we were..” and hard), I”m still learning how exactly to live with that “label”..

    And my hope? You know! God heals hearts. Especially broken ones.


Leave a Reply

