Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Does He Jiggle? September 8, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 2:34 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I struggled with how to explain the Trinity to my 2 oldest children (they are 3 1/2 and 5). My friend told me to use the egg analogy and another friend said to use the water analogy. Eggs are still eggs when they are shell, yolk, and white. Water is still water when it is steam, ice, and liquid. God is still God when the Father, Son, and Spirit.

It worked, sorta.

Jeremy, my 3 1/2 yr old, is my comic. He is always making me laugh with his honesty. He may have the same problem I do when he grows up — no filter for the inappropriate. Ha!

Brianna, my 5 yr old, is much more quiet and contemplative. She observes far more than she speaks.

Jeremy told me in the car today, “Mom, God’s Spirit is in my heart.”
I said, “where did you learn that, Jeremy?”
He said, “I just know it, Mom.”

I get no credit. Heh.

Brianna was quiet, as usual. After a few minutes she piped up.
“Mom.”
“Yeah, sweetie?”
“Does He jiggle?”
“Does who jiggle?”
“Does the Holy Spirit jiggle when I walk?”

LOL!

I didn’t want to laugh. I just said, “well, maybe He does since He is in your heart and all.”
“That’s what I was thinking,” she said.

Adorable.
Simply adorable.

 

4 Responses to “Does He Jiggle?”

  1. jimmy paravane Says:

    My granddaughter is testing her 12 going on 30 preteen boundaries with her mom. You think maybe God gave them the adorable gene so we have those memories to fall back on as they get older?
    Oh! We’re supposed to filter for the inappropriate! I learn something new everyday. (grin)

  2. Tab Says:

    Simply beautiful. No wonder Jesus loves the little children 🙂 I told my little one not to hurt “his” baby. (His little brother.) Then he says to me, “well if I break this baby we will go get another.” Of course you can imagine my surprise and my response, but it was hard not to laugh. Poor baby brother!

  3. candidchatter Says:

    @Jimmy: My filter is broken. Yours might be too. As far as I know, there is no way to repair it.

    @Tab: Thank you for the laugh!

  4. I kept forgetting I wanted to comment on this.. It reminded me of the time I was tickling my, then 3 1/2 oldest son and I said “Who loves you best?” expecting mommy to be the reply and he YELLED out “JESUS!!”.. Good answer, son, good answer.

    My filter used to work.. It got a little bit broken after Seth… I catch myself making others VERY uncomfortable on a regular basis these days. Oh well.


Leave a Reply

