Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Romans 16:17-19 November 4, 2009

Filed under: Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 9:39 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

This is what is on my mind lately. Anyone care to share their thoughts on these verses? I asked a few people on Facebook and heard back from two of them. I am still meditating, but would love your opinion. Please only comment if you are a Bible reader seeking wisdom from God. I will promptly delete foolish or derogatory comments. Thank you.

17I urge you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them. 18For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites. By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people. 19Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I am full of joy over you; but I want you to be wise about what is good, and innocent about what is evil.

 

6 Responses to “Romans 16:17-19”

  1. I have no idea who said it but I used the following quote this past week in a report to the fellowship I pastor: “No one can rock the boat and row it at the same time.” Nothing is more divisive than cheap talk behind someone’s back. Little miss prissy running here and there, pulling people off to the side to share their latest tidbit. I told the folks that if someone comes to them with talk tell them as nicely as you can to “Be quiet.” I didn’t use “shut up” because we tried to avoid that in our family. But then I said, “Tell them as nicely as you can to shut up.” These verses comes home to me big time right now. Thanks for the Scripture Heidi. Hope I wasn’t too strong in my response. 🙂

  2. Ivan Says:

    Sorry Heidi I have been idle — taken away from my studies by wordly cares.

    I have to say I am quite robust about the letters, far more so than I am with the Gospels: I’ll happily run ren pencil (metaphoricaly) through lines of the letters, but if I see something in the Gospels I disagree with it upsets me and I want to find a solution.

    Having said that, these three verses have a lot in them. For me the central point is, “For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites.” Sometimes divisions and obstacles are important to sort out, sometimes they can be sorted out some other time, sometimes they’re just not important at all. Whose agenda do you follow? Who decides the priorities? (not me byttheway).

    “Everyone has heard about your obedience, so I am full of joy over you” definitely makes me think of you.

    Innocence is very difficult I think, and is perhaps the ultimate goal: far more difficult and requiring more strength than just moral purity, …

    Yes sometimes Paul is a bit of a bumpkin (imho), but sometimes the profundities just tumble out on top of each other.

    Thank you for this. I’ll write about it again when I read it “officially”.

    Ivan

  3. jimmy paravane Says:

    Paul a bumpkin? Peter is as thick as a rock! Or something like that. (grin)
    “I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us.” Yeah, that Paul was a nutjob. (grin)

  4. bub Says:

    I read that and what immediately springs to my mind are proponents of the prosperity Gospel. Man, nothing makes my blood boil more than what I think is a total perversion of the message that Jesus Christ gave us. I would steer far clear of those charlatans. And I do. Unfortunately, if I see a Christian preacher on TV I change the channel. When you think about it that’s really sad.

    That being said, I’m on a roll with those cats anyway so maybe my mind is a little clouded with their evil right now. Sorry.

  5. Tab Says:

    Heavy, humbling, but good stuff! Makes me always want to keep an eye on my own motives!

  6. […] I’ve actually commented on this already. […]


Leave a Reply

