Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Achievement August 15, 2010

Touted as the most extreme home fitness program, P90X definitely delivers. I have done my fair share of home and gym workouts over the years. And, I dislike the gym… strongly & passionately. However, I have always enjoyed exercising at home and from time to time I’ve also stomached a fitness class (spinning, aerobics, and Yoga are the ones I’ve tried personally).

But sticking a DVD into my player and doing a solid workout on my own time with no travel involved, no smelly locker room, no guys hitting on me, no half-naked girls working the room, and no worries about child care — well, there’s just something about it that appeals to me. I payed attention for several months on Facebook to a few friends who bought into the trendy infomercial workout series. I watched for their status updates daily hoping they’d shed some “real life” light on the P90X revolution. Quickly, I noticed many of them stopped talking about it altogether. I wondered if it was because they were bored with it. I had visions of Tae Bo in my head, the world’s most repetitive and boring home workout to hit VHS (I’m not sure if it ever made it to DVD — ha ha).

One day a childhood neighborhood friend of mine announced that she was indeed still on the program and only had 2 weeks left. I picked her brain to pieces. I wanted so many questions answered and she was very patient and honest with me, God bless her. I decided to buy into all the hype and give it a go.

That was 90 days ago.
I’m going to cry. Real tears even.

Today, I have completed the absolute most difficult home workout system I have ever tried. I’ll never forget that first day when I swore I was going to puke about 20 minutes into the workout and almost cried when I realized I had 40 minutes to go. Heaving at the end, I called my husband to tell him how much I loved it. I felt like I had just been beaten to a pulp and I loved it. Say what? Love???

Yes. Love.

Betcha I can do more push-ups than you (with more variety).
Betcha I am more flexible than you.
Betcha I can do more jumping jacks than you (ever try a wacky jack?).
Betcha I have better form than you (you should see my tricep dips).
I betcha…

I have achieved great results using the P90X workout system. When I started I was a size 12 with joint and foot problems. As I type this, I am a comfortable size 8 (in only 13 weeks) and I have zero foot issues and very minimal knee problems.

Achievement. Fitness is important to me for many reasons. I am so excited I have completed this system. I “brought it” every single day and dripped sweat and was sore for days (and weeks) and some days was just so exhausted. It was worth it. I worked out when I was sick and on my monthly cycle and when I hadn’t had much sleep. I pushed play on days I was in such a bad mood nothing made me happy. I kept going and never quit. I did not give up.

I did it.

What next? Well, I’m taking a 3 week break from P90X and extreme fitness. I’ll mix it up for a little while with Tabata training, weights, and Pilates. Then, starting in the beginning of September, I’m going to do another round of P90X.

Size 8 is awesome and I feel like I could climb Mt. Everest.
However, I can do better than this.

Ha ha! So get ready for Round Two my friends.

Bring It!

By the way…
It’s not boring.
It’s just hard. đŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

