Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Love Your Neighbor October 5, 2010

Filed under: Faith,Gotta Have Friends,Life... The Way I See It — candidchatter @ 7:46 pm

Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ Matthew 22:37-39

You see my post below this one. I wrote that about a week ago. A lot has happened since then. Last night I applied for non-profit status for an organization I’ve become involved in called “Love Your Neighbor”, which is currently serving two counties in my area.

Several months ago I started feeling nudged to step out in faith in a local ministry. I allowed it to roll around in my mind and heart for quite awhile. I asked a couple of friends of mine for input. At first I thought I would become involved in outreach for local strippers. My husband was not keen on that idea at all. Next I applied to a local organization which helps victims of domestic violence with a focus especially on the children who have been abused. They did not return my inquiries despite the “we need volunteers” section on their website.

All the while I have been wondering what God has called me to, I’ve been involved in a meal ministry at my former church which I loved with all my heart and soul. The only problem with it was that they hardly ever called upon me to serve. I served my own circle of friends more this year providing meals when babies were born or a big move took place than I have for the church in the same time frame. Well, that got me thinking.

Hospitality.

I’m darn good at that. I love to cook. I love to have parties big or small. I love hosting friends and family for dinner. I love love love love love opening my home and kitchen. L.O.V.E. it!! It’s my “thing”.

My thing. [smile]

So, I decided to start a non-profit organization where I would gather a group of friends and find a way to serve meals to families in my local area who are in need for whatever reason whether I know them or not; whether they go to church or not; whether they can pay it forward or not. No strings attached. Just a pure blessing just b’cuz.

Seems easy enough, right?

Right!!

Turns out this IS precisely what God has called me to… at least for this season of my life.
Last night I applied for non-profit status with the state of Florida. Today I got my filing letter from them. It has been set in motion. For the last week I have been coordinating meals for a family in need. In the meantime, I have been working on flyers, business cards, and ideas to pull in more volunteers because we all know that the more volunteers I gather the more people we can help.

Love Your Neighbor (St. Lucie County)

You can find us on Facebook. Join our community whether you live near us or not. Even if you never take a meal to one of our families, we could sure use the support and prayers.

**I didn’t get this far alone. I have several friends near and far who were paramount to getting this thing going. But, most of all, I have the Lord to thank for using me and my gifts for the benefit of others. I am humbled and excited all at once!

 

4 Responses to “Love Your Neighbor”

  1. This is fantastic Heidi! I look forward to hearing more.

  2. Ivan Says:

    This sounds really exciting. Thanks for sharing.

    Ivan

  3. Lorna Says:

    Kudos, hugs and congrats on having the courage to step a little further into your faith.

  4. […] resurfaced with a new fire and a new ministry.  It started here with this post.  Then it went to this step.   Now it has come to this.  I applaud Heidi for her persistence, but even more for her desire to […]


Leave a Reply

