Candid Chatter

Just Say It

Homeless October 8, 2010

Filed under: All In the Family — candidchatter @ 6:44 pm

This evening I took all three of my kids to get ice cream at Dairy Queen. They have been angels all week dealing with Mommy starting a charitable business and delivering meals three times in 5 days. They deserved a nice sugary treat.

While there, we saw a homeless man and I explained to them what that means. They had asked why he was walking in the middle of the street carrying a paper (his sign). I gently told them about what his life may be like… begging for food and money, sleeping outside or in his vehicle, using public restrooms, eating out of garbage cans, not being able to shower or brush his teeth and so on. They grew quiet and concerned and made sweet, compassionate comments. I told them when they see a homeless person to pray. My 4 1/2 year old middle child piped up, “Mommy, I’m going to pray for that homeless man.” As I was merging onto the freeway, this is what I heard him say…

“Dear God,

Please help that homeless man.

Please don’t let his teeth get rotten.

Please keep him safe in his truck.

Please help him.

Amen.”

Teaching compassion is one thing.
Witnessing a child struck in the heart
with it naturally… Sigh. Priceless.

 

6 Responses to “Homeless”

  1. bub Says:

    I’ll tell you a little story. Once upon a time there was this strung out guy that used to hang out in a kinda cruddy part of town. He was working but was still pretty messed up. He worked half the time and the other half of the time he would just sit outside and stare into space. Next to this corner this dude hung out on was a catholic church/school. This lady went to pick her kids up from school there every day and would see this guy, who she had known from living and hanging around in the same area before this guy took a down hill turn. Whenever they would see him they would say a prayer for him. Every time. And here I am today. Keep praying, I will too!

  2. candidchatter Says:

    What a heartwarming story, Bub. I will keep praying! šŸ™‚ Thank you.

  3. The quiet desperation on the outside the lesser of the two. But it is the visible one.

  4. candidchatter Says:

    I can’t believe I’m about to say this Jimmy… but… I missed you. Hankins? Where’s Paravane? [grin] Welcome back!

  5. I’ve come out from under the cover of a pseudonym. But I’m still the paravane! It’s just now my family can read my blog. Ahhhhh! (grin)

  6. btw, missed you too! I was glad to see you blogging again. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

